Caldecott Medal Winners - Children's Literature
Award Year Title Author Publisher
2008The Invention of Hugo CabretBrian SelznickScholastic Press
2007FlotsamDavid WeisnerClarion
2006The Hello, Goodbye WindowNorton JusterHyperion
2005Kitten's First Full MoonKevin HenkesGreenwillow Books/HarperCollins Publishers
2004The Man Who Walked Between the TowersMordecai GersteinRoaring Brook Press/Millbrook Press
2003My Friend RabbitEric RohmannRoaring Brook Press/Millbrook Press
2002The Three PigsDavid WeisnerClarion/Houghton Mifflin
2001So You Want to be President?Judith St. GeorgePhilomel Books
2000Joseph Had a Little OvercoatSimms TabackViking
1999Snowflake BentleyJacqueline Briggs MartinHoughton
1998RapunzelPaul O. ZelinskyDutton
1997GolemDavid WisniewskiClarion
1996Officer Buckle and GloriaPeggy RathmannPutnam
1995Smoky NightEve BuntingHarcourt
1994Grandfather's JourneyAllen SayHoughton
1993Mirette on the High WireEmily Arnold McCullyPutnam
1992TuesdayDavid WeisnerClarion
1991Black and WhiteDavid MacaulayHoughton
1990Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from ChinaEd YoungPhilomel Books
1989Song and Dance ManKaren AckermanKnopf
1988Owl MoonJane YolenPhilomel Books
1987Hey, AlArthur YorinksFarrar
1986The Polar ExpressChris Van AllsburgHoughton
1985Saint George and the DragonMargaret HodgesLittle, Brown
1984The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis BleriotAlice & Martin ProvensenViking
1983ShadowBlaise CendrarsScribner
1982JumanjiChris Van AllsburgHoughton
1981FablesArnold LobelHarper
1980Ox-Cart ManDonald HallViking
1979The Girl Who Loved Wild HorsesPaul GobleBradbury
1978Noah's ArkPeter SpierDoubleday
1977Ashanti to Zulu: African TraditionsMargaret MusgroveDial
1976Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's EarsVerna AardemaDial
1975Arrow to the SunGerald McDermottViking
1974Duffy and the DevilHarve ZemachFarrar
1973The Funny Little WomanArlene MoselDutton
1972One Fine DayNonny HogrogianMacmillan
1971A Story A StoryGail E. HaleyAtheneum
1970Sylvester and the Magic PebbleWilliam SteigWindmill Books
1969The Fool of the World and the Flying ShipArthur RansommeFarrar
1968Drummer HoffBarbara EmberleyPrentice-Hall
1967Sam, Bangs & MoonshineEvaline NessHolt
1966Always Room for One MoreSorche Nic LeodhasHolt
1965May I Bring a Friend?Beatrice Schenk di RegniersAtheneum
1964Where the Wild Things AreMaurice SendakHarper
1963The Snowy DayEzra Jack KeatsViking
1962Once a MouseMarcia BrownScribner
1961Baboushka and the Three KingsRuth RobbinsParnassas
1960Nine Days to ChristmasMarie Hall Ets and LabastidaViking
1959Chanticleer and the FoxBarbara CooneyCrowell
Database service by